

APPA U Class of September 2013 Celebrates a Fantastic Week of Learning

By Suzanne Healy

PPA U, which was recently held in Fort Lauderdale, FL, showcased another successful professional development gathering of the Institute for Facilities Management and the Leadership Academy, welcoming colleagues from around the globe to learn, network, and collaborate.

We are grateful for the dedicated faculty who make these programs such a success. A special note of thanks goes to Institute Deans, Mary Vosevich, Jay Klingel, Lynne Finn, and Don Guckert; and our Academy Deans, Chuck Farnsworth, David Judge, Ann Jenkins, Shawna Rowley, Matt Adams, Jim Jackson, and Doug Christensen. APPA would also like to extend a special thank you to Tony Todaro and his team at NOVA Southeastern University for hosting our Wednesday tour that showcased their Center of Excellence for Coral Reef Ecosystems Research Facility—attendees that participated commented that it was AMAZING!

Throughout the week, students had the opportunity to inter-

act with experts who brought their knowledge and experiences from vast backgrounds, providing a rich environment for all attendees.

As the week drew to a close, we celebrated with graduation ceremonies for the Class of September 2013—welcoming 58 new alumni.

A big kudos to all those institutional leaders who supported the professional development of their staff! The professional development of any individual must be as customizable as the individuals themselves—and APPA is here to help everyone achieve their personal, departmental, and institutional goals.

If you have any questions, please contact Suzanne Healy at suzanne@appa.ort or visit www.appa.org/training for more on all of APPA's program offerings.

Suzanne Healy is APPA's director of professional development and can be reached at suzanne@appa.org.



PHOTO BY RHONDA HOLE

Academy Graduates

Luis Abreu, LIM College

In alphabetical order; not all graduates are pictured.

Beau Burgen, Washtenaw Community College Dan Dayhoff, Florida State University Daniel Durham, University of North Carolina/Greensboro Robert Farlow, University of Maryland/Baltimore Brian Flesner, Doane College Lynn Fletcher, University of Colorado/Boulder Tammy Gannon, Culver Academies

Jean Graziano, University of Maryland/Baltimore Charles Hormburg, Michigan State University

Julie Im, Middle Tennessee State University Scott Jennings, North Carolina State University Roslyn Johnson, University of Chicago Ron Lester, Southern Nazarene University Russell Reese, Pennsylvania State University Barbara Russell, Georgia Tech Research Institute Greg Silkman, University of Missouri/Kansas City Tom Sullivan, University of Michigan/Ann Arbor Rohan Talwar, Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology Susan Thews, Culver Academies

Institute Graduates

In alphabetical order; not all graduates are pictured.

Carole Acquesta, Appalachian State University Mary Augustine, DTZ a UGL Company at Tulane University

Jaime Baro, San Diego State University

Bob Bauer, University of Cincinnati

James Bevington, University of Virginia

Bernie Beyer, John Carroll University

Ken Bloomer, University of Cincinnati

Charlie Brien, University of North Texas

Francis Brindisi, FDA

Edward Brown, University of Maryland

Vince Chavez, University of New Mexico

Paul Corcoran, Minnesota State University/Mankato

Randal Davis, Missouri University of Science and Technology

Chad Davisson, Weber State University

Chad Dragan, San Diego State University

Gordon Elvis, FDA

Jason Estensen, U.S. Marine Corps/ Camp Pendleton

Richard Flanagan, Draper Laboratory

Jon Gibb, Dixie State University

Erik Hall, North Carolina State University

Jerry Helton, Virginia Commonwealth University

Tom Hulett, Metropolitan Community College

Jeff Marcinkowski, Grand Valley State University

Larry Milby, Illinois State University

Mark Olmstead, Kellogg Community College

Dwight Raby, Emory University

Ray Robichaud, Wilfrid Laurier University

Jonathan Shambare, *University of Alaska/Fairbanks*

Steve Sicluna, York University

Bing Smith, Pennsylvania State University

Victor Smith, North Carolina State University

Matthew Sullivan, Sullivan, Matthew

David Tate, Georgia Tech Research Institute

Anthony Todaro, Nova Southeastern University

Sue Van Cleve, University of New Mexico

Christopher Vera, Texas A&M University/Kingsville

Tom Welburn, Michigan State University

Mark Zimmerman, Elizabethtown College