VRAP-U

APPA U CLASS OF JANUARY 2013 CELEBRATES IN TAMPA

By Suzanne Healy

PPA U kicked off 2013 with above average attendance records in Tampa, Florida and delivered another successful gathering of the Institute for Facilities Management and the Leadership Academy. Colleagues from around the globe were welcomed to learn, network, and collaborate.

We are grateful to the dedicated faculty who make these offerings such a success. A special note of thanks goes to Institute Deans: Mary Vosevich, Jay Klingel, Lynne Finn, and Don Guckert; and our Academy Deans: Glenn Smith, Michelle Frederick, Ann Jenkins, Shawna Rowley, Matt Adams, David Judge, Doug Christensen, and Jack Hug. APPA also extends a special thank you to **Randy Ledbetter** and **Steve Stephens** of DTZ who hosted our Monday evening open forum titled Gaining Approval for Your Idea(s) — Developing a Win Strategy. The event allowed for additional networking time and possibilities.

Throughout the week, APPA U students had the opportunity to interact with experts who brought their knowledge and experiences from vast backgrounds, providing a rich environment



for all attendees. A big thanks to University of South Florida's Siva Prakash, Nainan Desai, and their teams, who provided an outstanding tour for a number of attendees.

As the week drew to a close, we celebrated with graduation ceremonies for the Class of January 2013, welcoming 75 new alumni.

Kudos to the institutional leaders who supported the professional development of their staff! The professional development of any staff person must be as customizable as the individuals themselves—and APPA is here to help everyone achieve their personal, departmental, and institutional goals.

The next session of APPA U will be held September 8-12, 2013 in Fort Lauderdale, Florida. Please visit www.appa.org/ training for more on all of APPA's program offerings. (3)

Suzanne Healy is APPA's director of professional development and can be reached at suzanne@appa.org.

Academy Graduates

Amr Abdel-Azim, Michigan State University Barbara Benson, Davidson College Allen Boyette, North Carolina State University Raymond Bryant, Washington & Lee University Ally Bujacich, University of Puget Sound Luis Ceballos, Gulliver Schools, Inc. Alan Daeke, North Carolina State University Edmond Dubois, University of Colorado/Boulder Thomas Flood, *Elon University* Edward Furnas, Florida International University Brian Gillette, Allegheny College Gerald Grimes, Middle Tennessee State University Kim Holland, McMaster University Billy Hromas, University of New Mexico Janice LaRiviere, Southern Illinois University/Edwardsville Wilson Martinez, Florida International University Alice Maxwell, University of Maryland/Baltimore Gary Nellesen, Mt. San Antonio College Paul Ostrander, University of Pennsylvania/Philadelphia Lisa Potter, University of Colorado/Boulder Aaron Wand, Tarleton State University



Institute Graduates

Jessica Abbott, University of Hartford Ron Bailey, University of Nebraska/Lincoln Helen Bailey, University of North Texas Tom Blackwell, University of Texas/Austin Steve Briskar, Pennsylvania State University Cheryl Brown, North Carolina State University Angel Brownell, Bennington College Dennis Coakley, University of Vermont David Cosner Sr., University of Maryland Nainan Desai, University of South Florida Marion Dietze, Fanshawe College John Eberly, Harrisburg Area Community College Abraham Flores, University of Houston/Downtown Kellie Fritze, University of Alaska/Fairbanks Ralph Hilbert, Carnegie-Mellon University Mike Hodnefield, University of Regina John Holman, University of Pikeville Ward Illsley, University of Guelph Kathy Junior, University of Regina Kelly Kinnard, University of Texas/Dallas Stephen Kolb, Towson University William Lakos, Michigan State University Kenny Lam, University of South Florida Marshall Lasswell, Texas A&M University/San Antonio Dennis Leary, Eilzabeth City State University Douglas Lightfoot, Metropolitan Community College

M. Robert Maddux, Salisbury University David Manos, Pennsylvania State University Glenn Martin, University of Nebraska/Lincoln Shane McKechney, University of Regina Jeffrey Noel, Northern Kentucky University Robert Oakley, George Washington University Vincent Oliver, Franciscan University of Steubenville Randy Poole, University of Rochester Mark Powell, Virginia Commonwealth University Anthony Putnam, Clemson University Walter Quarles, University of Nebraska/Kearney Don Rogers, Hillwood Estate Museum and Gardens Manuel Rosario, Middlesex County College Patricia Ruiz, Florida International University lafeta Sao, Brigham Young University/Hawaii Joe Spence, Northeastern State University Roger Strate, Salt Lake Community College Duane Swanson, James Madison University Ana Thiemer, University of Texas/Austin Rick Turco, Regis University Greg Vaughn, Miami University Elizabeth Verzi, Sinclair Community College Christopher Walsh, University of Nebraska/Lincoln Marcie Weathers, Kalamazoo College Wayne Wilcox, Portland State University Michael Zwanziger, University of Northern Iowa