

APPA U in Vancouver

By Suzanne Healy

his fall, Vancouver, British Columbia, one of the world's most spectacular cities, played host to APPA's latest offering of APPA U. APPA's professional development offerings of the Institute for Facilities Management and the Leadership Academy, brought colleagues from across the continent to learn, network, and collaborate.

We are grateful for the dedicated faculty who make these programs such a success. A special note of thanks goes to Institute Deans: Mary Vosevich, Jay Klingel, Lynne Finn, and Don Guckert; and our Academy Deans: Glenn Smith, Sue Petrisin, Ann Jenkins, Shawna Rowley, Matt Adams, David Judge, Doug Christensen and Jack Hug. APPA would also like to extend a special thank you to Steve Stephens of UGL Services, who supported Track 4 of the Leadership Academy, as well as hosted an open forum with guest speaker Chuck Farn**sworth** during the week-long program for all attendees.

Throughout APPA U, students had opportunities to interact with experts who brought their knowledge and experiences

from vast backgrounds, providing a rich environment for all attendees. As the week drew to a close, we celebrated with graduation ceremonies for the Class of September 2012.

A big kudos to all those institutional leaders who supported the professional development of their staff! The professional development of any individual must be as customizable as the individuals themselves—and APPA is here to help everyone achieve their personal, departmental and institutional goals.

Please visit www.appa.org/training for more on all of APPA's program offerings.

NOTE: Our next APPA U January 13–17, 2013 will be held in Tampa, Florida! Information on our next offering will be available via our website later this year. We look forward to seeing you and your staff at the next APPA event!

Suzanne Healy is APPA's director of professional development and can be reached at suzanne@appa.org.



Academy Graduates

In alphabetical order; not all graduates are pictured.

Juan Allen, American University Jason Cantas, Chevron Refinery Canada Amy Carnahan, Michigan State University Steve Duncan, Oklahoma City Community College David Hatch, North Carolina State University Glosenda Navales, University of Maryland/Baltimore Patrick Schlanger, Regis University Al Stoverink, Arkansas State University



Institute Graduates

Rick Andrews, Foothill-de Anza Community College District Pamela Barrett, Kalamazoo College Meloyde Batten-Mickens, Gallaudet University Tim Carver, Kennesaw State University Vickie Cicchese, University of Texas/Austin Johnny Cline, North Carolina State University Dan Costello, University of Texas/Austin Renee Cota, University of Arizona James Davis, Emory University Mark Demyanek, Georgia Institute of Technology Andrew Ellenberger, Pennsylvania State University Lou Galante, University of Iowa Sadie Greiner, University of Iowa M. Shawn Harrington, Fanshawe College Candice Jicha, North Carolina State University Deirdra Lawrence, Tulane University Miguel Lopez, Weber State University Ray Maag, Brigham Young University/Utah Vance McCray, Tulane University Lynne Morris, University of San Diego Steve Otto, University of Iowa

Jonathan Peeler, Ross University School of Veterinary Medicine Kathy Perez, University of Arizona Kim Piechuta, Philadelphia University Robyn Pierce, Portland State University Nikki Price, North Carolina State University Samantha Reece, Purdue University/Main Campus Craig Regan, Kwantlen Polytechnic University Steve Robinson, Okanagan College Charles Rossignol, Emory University Dexter Satcher, University of Alabama/Huntsville George Smith, Arizona State University George Smith, North Carolina State University Lance Streeter, Cornell University Jeffrey Tate, Emory University Victoria Tate, Auburn University Bill Vaughan, Reed College Michael Wallick, University of Texas/Austin Kyle Williams, Brigham Young University/Idaho Alan Witmer, Pennsylvania State University Paul Wurster, University of Rochester Seyfi Yazicioglu, University of Texas/Austin