APPA PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT SUCCESS-**FULLY EXECUTES ANOTHER OFFERING OF INSTITUTE, SPECIAL PROGRAMMING & TOOLKIT**

By Suzanne Healy

anuary 2009 marked another successful APPA professional development offering with the Institute, Toolkit, and Special Programming: Sustainability in Tampa, Florida. The week welcomed attendees from all across the APPA membership and saw a new batch of 79 professionals begin their journey for development with APPA.

Our Institute for Facilities Management continues to be APPA's cornerstone offering as we deliver content in the core areas of general administration, operations & maintenance, energy & utilities, and planning, design, and construction. The dedication of the Deans —

Mary Vosevich, General Administration, Jay Klingel, Operations & Maintenance, Lynne Finn, Energy & Utilities, and Don Guckert, Planning, Design, and Construction — once again showed through with the variety of course offerings that provided a broad range of topical material for the facilities professional. Students had the opportunity to interact with experts who brought not only their knowledge but their experiences from vast backgrounds that provided a rich environment.

Our Supervisor's Toolkit hosted 23 up-and-coming supervisors who were joined by Nancy Yeroshefsky and Judy Clay as their trainers for the week-long session. Participants were exposed to the newest techniques and learned how to operate in their new role as supervisors or honed their skills as they advance through the facility organizations they support. The Toolkit participants benefit tremendously from this tailored program designed for facilities professionals, by facilities professionals.

As APPA continues its commitment to provide cuttingedge topical content, the offering of "Special Programming: Sustainability" marked a successful session. Facilitated by those entrenched in the movement, experts were invited from North America to share best practices, lessons learned, and visions of where the movement will take education next.

As the week drew to a close we celebrated with ceremonies for the class of January 2009, and recognition of our Toolkit participants as well. Sharing the achievement with old friends and new colleagues made for a great evening.

Please visit www.appa.org for more information and registration dates. We hope to see you soon!

Suzanne Healy is APPA's director of professional development. She can be reached at suzanne@appa.org.





January 2009 Institute Graduates

Christopher Adams, Capstone Management Gregory Andersen, Pennsylvania State University Patricia Bonta, Chicago School of Professional Psychology

James Brown, Sodexo/Florida

Alex Buehler, University of Regina

Clarence Burgen, Washtenaw Community College Heather Churchwell, University of Saskatchewan

Kelly Clemons, Pennsylvania State University

James Coffey, Wake Forest University

Alan Daeke, North Carolina State University

Terese Dale, California Polytechnic State University

Roger Dick, Wichita State University Janet Donohoe, University of Iowa

Ron Dulceak, College of Dupage

Joseph Emory, University of North Carolina/Chapel Hill

Terry Fenstad, Westfield State College

Juergen Friese, University of Colorado/System Office

Stephen Gillette, Tennessee State University

Lisa Glover-Henderson, University of Rochester

Steve Greife, Metropolitan Community College/Kansas City

Michiel Ham, San Jose State University

Cecil Hamm, Butler University

Linda Hardymon, Middle Tennessee State University

Neil Hart, University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center

Paul Hawley, Georgia Tech Research Institute

Sharon Hayes, Lewis & Clark College

Lawrence Hess, Lakeland College/Canada

Kathy Hicks, Arkansas State University

Rex Hilligoss, Eastern Illinois University

Rebecca Houle, University of Maine/Farmington

Brian Humphries, Northwestern College/Minnesota

Julie Im, Middle Tennessee State University

Edward Keller, University of North Carolina/Greensboro

Miles Kitasato, University of California/Los Angeles

Joseph Knoll, Emerson College

Linda Longo, Purdue University/Main Campus

Jeffrey Loss, Bucknell University

Darcy Loy, Illinois State University

Viron Lynch, Weber State University

John Marker, University of Nebraska/Lincoln

Ed Matecki, Southern Illinois University/Edwardsville

Kyle Mills, Kutztown University of Pennsylvania

Chris Mizelle, University of Alaska/Anchorage

Sam Narinejit, Florida International University

Robert Nugent, University of British Columbia

Juan Nuñez, University of Texas/Austin

Patrick O'Neill, Le Moyne College

Patricia Patterson, University of Saskatchewan

Nathan Platt, University of Alaska/Fairbanks

Kevin Powell, University of Pennsylvania/School of Medicine

Deb Randol, Central College

Ben Reid, University of Texas/Austin

Kenneth Riebert, University of Maryland College Park -

Facilities Management

Luis Rivas, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center

Shawna Rowley, Weber State University

Lionel Sanders, Eastern Illinois University

Scott Selden, St. Paul Academy and Summit School

John Skyberg, San Jose State University

David Speagle, McMaster University

Roger Thue, South Dakota State University

Jeffrey Tillett, Milton Hershey School

Jeff Turner, Ohio County Schools

James Waddington, Rowan University

Brian Wallar, Purdue University/Main Campus

Jim Ward, Webster University

William Weakley, University of Michigan

Brian Wenger, Guilford College

David Willis, Lane Community College

Robert Yearick, Pennsylvania State University/McKeesport

Margaret Young, University of Iowa

January 2009 Toolkit Participants

Zufer Bander, The Principia School

Samantha Bryand, University of North Florida

Rey Buenaventura, Salk Institute for Biological Studies

John Congdon, Dartmouth College

Adam Cordova, Regis University

Jennifer Cortez, Arkansas State University

Manuel Duarte, Salk Institute for Biological Studies

Virgil Esquerra, Salk Institute for Biological Studies

Kerry Evans, Montana State University

Tom Fallwell, Indiana University/Bloomington

Thomas Halladay, Brigham Young University/Utah

Joseph Hill, University of Texas/El Paso

Jessica Joiner, University of North Florida

Dale Parmer, University of Missouri/Columbia

Barbara Russell, Georgia Tech Research Institute

Mark Samon, University of North Florida

Miguel Sarabia, University of Texas/El Paso

Doris Slick, The Principia School

Randy Sutherlin, Indiana University/Bloomington

Reginald Wagner, Regis University

Nancy Webb, University of South Florida

Dena Williams, University of North Florida

Blake Zollinger, University of Alaska/Anchorage