Facilities Manager

PRESIDENT: Christopher K. Ahoy, Iowa State University

EXECUTIVE VICE PRESIDENT:

E. Lander Medlin, Alexandria, Virginia

EDITOR: Steve Glazner

ASSISTANT EDITOR: Kisha D. DeSandies

SUBSCRIPTIONS: Cotrenia Aytch

CREATIVE DIRECTION:

Creative Media Group **PRINTING:** Corporate Press, Inc.

EDITORIAL OFFICE:

703-684-1446 ext. 236

FAX: 703-549-2772

E-MAIL: steve@appa.org, kisha@appa.org,

cotrenia@appa.org **WEB:** www.appa.org

ADVERTISING: Gerry Van Treeck

Achieve Communications

3221 Prestwick Lane

Northbrook, Illinois 60062

Phone: 847-562-8633

Fax: 847-562-8634

E-mail: gvtgvt@earthlink.net

Facilities Manager (ISSN 0882-7249) is published six times a year (January, March, May, July, September, and November). Editorial contributions are welcome and should be

sent to the address below.

Of APPA's annual membership dues, \$53 pays for the subscription to *Facilities Manager*. Additional annual subscriptions cost \$66 for APPA members, \$120 for non-members. For information on rates and deadlines for display advertising, telephone 847-562-8633 or 703-684-1446 ext. 237.

Copyright ©2007 by APPA. Contents may not be reprinted or reproduced in any form without written permission. The opinions expressed are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the views of APPA. Editorial mention of companies or products is for informational purposes only and should not be construed as an endorsement, actual or implied, by the Association.

POSTMASTER: Send address changes to *Facilities Manager*, 1643 Prince Street, Alexandria, VA 22314-2818.



Published by APPA 1643 Prince Street Alexandria, Virginia 22314-2818

From the Editor

by Steve Glazner



William A. Daigneau Receives 2007 Rex Dillow Award

e are pleased to announce that William A. Daigneau, vice president and chief facilities officer at the University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center, is the recipient of the 2007 Rex Dillow Award for Outstanding Article in Facilities Manager.

Bill is the second author in APPA history to be awarded the Rex Dillow Award three times. He ties with Walter Simpson of SUNY at Buffalo for having three separate articles honored by APPA.

A longtime APPA member, Bill is an occasional agent provocateur on topics that APPA and its members need to consider, but are sometimes not quite ready to confront. His award-winning article, "Megatrends and Myths: Facilities Management Practices in Higher Education," (November/December 2006) continues that tradition by offering five megatrends, or major categories, that higher education and facilities professionals need to deal with to remain current: changing student demographics, access and efficiency,

technology, accountability, and environmental stewardship.

At the same time, Bill presents five myths of higher education facilities management:

- 1. Build for the long haul
- 2. Build flexibility into the design
- 3. Form follows function
- 4. Deferred maintenance is bad
- 5. Facilities attract students

This is provocative indeed. APPA's Information and Research Committee—led by Michael J. Sofield of the Smithsonian Institution—agreed and selected Bill's article from 13 eligible articles this year.

APPA has presented the annual Rex Dillow Award since 1987. The award is named for APPA member emeritus Rex O. Dillow, formerly of the University of Missouri-Columbia, who contributed much to the development and improvement of APPA's publication and educational programs during his active membership in the association.

Congratulations to Bill for his award and his contribution to the body of knowledge. **.**

Past Rex Dillow Award Recipients (2002 – 2006)

2006 Roger E. Rowe

2005 Leonard Friesenhahn, P.E.

2004 Richard W. Robben

2003 Donald J. Guckert &

Jeri R. King

2002 Walter K. Simpson