Facilities Manager

PRESIDENT: Edward D. Rice, Kansas State University

EXECUTIVE VICE PRESIDENT:

E. Lander Medlin, Alexandria, Virginia

EDITOR: Steve Glazner

ASSISTANT EDITOR: Betsy Colgan **SUBSCRIPTIONS:** Cotrenia Aytch **CREATIVE DIRECTION:**

Creative Media Group

PRINTING: Corporate Press, Inc.

EDITORIAL OFFICE:

703-684-1446 ext. 236 **FAX:** 703-549-2772

E-MAIL: steve@appa.org betsy@appa.org

cotrenia@appa.org

WEB: www.appa.org **ADVERTISING:**

> Gerry Van Treeck Achieve Communications 3221 Prestwick Lane Northbrook, Illinois 60062 Phone: 847-562-8633

Fax: 847-562-8634

E-mail: gvtgvt@earthlink.net Facilities Manager (ISSN 0882-7249) is published six times a year (January, March, May, July, September, and November) Editorial contributions are welcome and should be sent to the address below.

Of APPA's annual membership dues, \$53 pays for the subscription to Facilities Manager. Additional annual subscriptions cost \$66 for APPA members, \$120 for nonmembers. For information on rates and deadlines for display advertising, telephone 847-562-8633 or 703-684-1446 ext. 238.

Copyright ©2005 by APPA: The Association of Higher Education Facilities Officers. Contents may not be reprinted or reproduced in any form without written permission. The opinions expressed are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the views of APPA. Editorial mention of companies or products is for informational purposes only and should not be construed as an endorsement, actual or implied, by the Association.

POSTMASTER: Send address changes to Facilities Manager, 1643 Prince Street, Alexandria, VA 22314-2818.

Published by APPA:

The Association of Higher **Education Facilities Officers** 1643 Prince Street Alexandria, VA 22314-2818

Global Partner in Learning

From the Editor

by Steve Glazner

Leonard Friesenhahn Receives 2005 Rex Dillow Award

ince 1987 APPA has presented the annual Rex Dillow Award for Outstanding Article in Facilities Manager. The winning articles are

of the highest quality of those published in the magazine each year, and the difficult selection process is managed by APPA's Information and



Research Committee, led this year by Michael J. Sofield of the Smithsonian Institution.

We are pleased to announce that the 2005 Rex Dillow Award is given this year to Leonard Friesenhahn, P.E., manager, energy and utilities management, of the University of Texas at Austin. His article—his first written for Facilities Manager—was "The University of Texas Sewer Rehab: Using Trenchless Technologies" and was published in the September/ October 2004 issue. Leonard is being presented his award at the 2005 APPA Forum in Orlando, Florida.

In his award-winning article, Leonard discusses how the complex yet aging sanitary sewer system at the university was rehabilitated using an innovative process to restore life to the aging sewer mains without the inconvenience and significant expense of the traditional open-cut method.

The award is named for APPA member emeritus Rex O. Dillow, formerly of the University of Missouri-Columbia, who contributed much to the development and improvement of APPA's publication and education programs during his active membership in the association. There were 18 eligible articles for the 2005 award. Congratulations to Leonard Friesenhahn for his excellent work.

Past President Charles Butler Dies

harles W. Butler, APPA President in 1979-80, passed

lived in Sevierville, Tennessee since his retirement from the University of South Florida. Charlie was an active member of APPA and of the Southeastern Region throughout his career in higher education. He was a dapper presence at numerous APPA and SRAPPA conferences even after his retirement. In 1982 Charlie was the recipient





of the Meritorious Service Award, APPA's highest individual honor for service.